Portraits? Dog tags?

Have a Bully related CafePress store? Do you make or sell dog products? Let us know so we can shop there! Posting animals for sale is against board policy

Postby pitsnok » November 23rd, 2010, 12:28 am

Okay here's the deal guys.
I'm a full time art student, and am currently taking ALL studio classes. Therefore, having a 'normal' job is not really possible for me. My emphasis for my undergrad is photography, but I actually focus on metalworking, and sculpture.

I have been wanting to start doing pet portraits, and also start making dog tags. (Fetching tags, ID tags, human jewelry, etc.)

If I were to do so, would anyone be willing to purchase any?

I'm comfortable working in any drawing medium, (Graphite, prisma colors, pastels, etc.) and am confident in my acrylic painting as long as the subject is not too terribly detailed. All I would need for portraits would be a high-resolution photo e-mailed to me.

The tags I would like to make would vary between copper and sterling silver. Eventually, I would also love to make treat containers, urns, dog dishes, decorative pieces, or anything copper would allow.

The main reason for wanting to do this is to help us with the extra expenses of having Boss and Ollie right now. If I had enough requests I could make an etsy store, I just don't want to go through with that if there won't be any kind of demand.

Those of you who are my facebook friends have seen some of my mobile uploads of my most recent work. I'm currently in the process of actually photographing those, and older pieces. I will try to make some sample tags tomorrow when my metals class is over, and get photos up as soon as I can.

If anyone is interested please respond to this thread or PM me with an idea of what you might be interested in, and we can brainstorm together. :dance:
~Brittany, Degan and Harlow's mom

"It is true that Pit Bulls grab and hold on. But what they most often grab and refuse to let go of is your heart, not your arm."